Space YZ

7 January – 14 March 2021
Curated by Daniel Mudie Cunningham

View the Artist List
View the Exhibition Map
Visit Space YZ Website

In times of alarmingly diminishing art school options in the tertiary and higher education systems, Space YZ, curated by Daniel Mudie Cunningham, draws inspiration from the visual arts legacy of Western Sydney University (formerly known as University of Western Sydney). 

From the first graduating class in 1986 to the final cohort as the curtain closed in 2009, the art school was a pioneering hub for experimentation and risk-taking across a broad variety of media. 

Staged twelve years since the closure of the art school, Space YZ presents significant early works created by 88 Visual Arts and Electronic Arts alumni during their undergraduate studies or within two years of graduation.

‘Space YZ’ references the university gallery established on campus in 1992. A transitional space, the gallery was literally an oversized corridor connecting the Z Block art studios to the rest of the university on the Kingswood side of the Penrith campus. Less a destination than an idling walkway, Space YZ speaks to the metaphors of transition and connection that abound at art school; where ideologies are challenged and unique artistic identities forged.

Including early work by Brook Andrew, Liam Benson, Raquel Ormella, Savanhdary Vongpoothorn and Justene Williams among many others, Space YZ celebrates the vibrant artistic practices that have flourished from this important institution, while advocating for better access to art school education in Western Sydney and across Australia.

Space YZ presents work by Visual Arts or Electronic Arts alumni from WSU who are practising today and who have artwork available that was made during their undergraduate studies or within two years of graduation.

Artist list: Jemima Aitchison, Kay Andonopoulos, Brook Andrew, Liam Benson, Drew Bickford, Diego Bonetto, Anna Boros, Darryl Brown, Kat Brown, Kate Brown, Samuel Bruce, Ana Carter, T.R. Carter, Josie Cavallaro, Claire Conroy, Karen Coull, Emma Crimmings, Jen Cuthbert, Dagmur Cyrulla, Sandra Daley, Fiona Davies, Ben Denham, Mary Donnelly, Ryan Dunshea, Joe Ernsten, Greg Ferris, Peter Fitzpatrick, Sam Formosa, Stephen Fox, Andrew Gadow, Paul Greedy, Daniel Green, Vicki Hersey, Tim Hilton, Di Holdsworth, Elin Howe, Robin Hungerford, Nancy Hunt, Jon Hunter, Lucas Ihlein, Harley Ives, Rosemary Jackson, Anne Kay, Daniel Kojta, Jennifer Leahy, Erna Lilje, Michael Lindeman, Ivan Lisyak, Stephen Little, Gary Makin, Luis Martinez, Susan McInerney, Geraldine Mills, Emily Morandini, Daniel Mudie Cunningham, Peter Newman, Audrey Newton, Kusum Normoyle, Vaughan Wozniak-O’Connor, Catherine O’Donnell, Naomi Oliver, Miguel Olmo, Raquel Ormella, Brendan Penzer, Tamarah Quelch Niccol, Melissa Ramos, Emma Rooney, Tony Schwensen, Michelle Seamons, Ebony Secombe, John South, Ben Tankard, Sherna Teperson, Kim Thomson, George Tillianakis, Telly Tuita, Suzann Victor, Savanhdary Vongpoothorn, Angela Vozzo, Jon Wah, Regina Walter, Vincent Watson, Alex White, Paul White, Davida Wiley, Justene Williams, Jonathan Wilson, Anastasia Zaravinos.

After an extensive call-out, the Space YZ artist intake has now closed.



In partnership with Western Sydney University, Campbelltown Arts Centre has launched a website to accompany Space YZ. Featuring commissioned texts and reflections from artists and key people involved at the school as well as extensive archival material, the website will continue to grow in the lead up to and over the course of the exhibition. Be sure to repeat visit

Space YZ is presented by Campbelltown Arts Centre and Sydney Festival 2021.