Fisher’s Ghost Art Award

Fisher's Ghost Art Award 2016. Image courtesy Document Photography

Exhibition: From 28 October 2017
Official opening night and award announcement: Friday 3 November.

Entries in the 2017 Fisher’s Ghost Art Award have now closed. Click here for the full list of preselected artists in this year’s Art Award.

The Fisher’s Ghost Art Award coincides with Campbelltown’s annual Festival of Fisher’s Ghost. Held over 10 days, the Festival dates back to 1956 and celebrates Australia’s most famous ghost – Frederick Fisher.

The Open section of the Art Award is acquisitive to the C-A-C permanent collection and is awarded prize-money of $20,000. In the past it has been awarded to some of Australia’s most respected Contemporary artists including Elisabeth Cummings, Khaled Sabsabi, Justene Williams, David Bromley, Marion Borgelt, Raquel Ormella and Philip Wolfhagen.

Information for artists

Collection of artwork from Campbelltown Arts Centre: Friday 15 – Monday 18 December 2017, 10am – 4pm

Categories and prizes

$20,000 Open
Sponsor – Campbelltown City Council & Friends of Campbelltown Arts Centre
The winning work is acquisitive to the Campbelltown City Council permanent collection.

Winner: Tina Havelock Stevens – Let’s Groove

$3,000 Contemporary
Sponsor – Marsdens Law Group

Winner: JD Reforma – Coconut Republic

$2,000 Traditional
Sponsor – Australian Labor Party
Artworks in this category must be created in a traditional style such as; still life, realism, landscape, portraiture or using traditional techniques.

Winner: Julie McCurry – Shell Cove Estate

$2500 Sculpture
Sponsor – Coonamble Shire Council

Winner: Mechelle Bounspraseuth – Do the right thing

$1000 Photography
Sponsor – Macarthur Greens

Winner: Jeremy Blincoe – Tropic of Chaos

Primary Students
Sponsor – Rotary Club of Ingleburn

Winners: Tiana Crisdale, Lillian Greeves and Aliana Wheatley

Secondary Students
Sponsor – Western Suburbs Leagues Club

Winners: Kayla Coleman, Michaela Rist, Selina Tong and Caitlyn Vlaski

$5,000 Surrealism Award
Sponsor – Michael and Marilyn Reardon-Small with acknowledgment of the Gleeson O’Keefe Foundation

Winner: Louisa Chircop – I fucked with Matta and Van Gogh

$3,000 Macarthur Award
Sponsor – Campbelltown Catholic Club

Winner: Mona Ibrahim – Je pense a toi

$1000 Aboriginal Art Award
Sponsor – Liberal Party of Australia

Winner: Paris Norton – Whitewash

$500 + Mentorship Macability Award
Sponsor – Macarthur Disability Services

Winner: Peter Gregson – Volcanic Skate Park

Click here for the full list of preselected artists in the 2017 Fisher’s Ghost Art Award.


Opening Night tickets are now on sale! Visit the link below to book.